
I'd be interested to hear other DM's opinions. I've looked in the errata and the 3.5 update, but haven't found any mention of whether the banshee's wail is a death attack or not. The spell death ward protects a character against these attacks.In case it matters, a dead character, no matter how she died, has.
Raise dead doesn’t work on someone killed by a death attack. In most cases, a death attack allows the victim a Fortitude save to avoid the affect, but if the save fails, the character dies instantly. Even a fighter with 100 hit points can be killed by a single death attack. Even in a fantastical world, people require basic necessities. A single arrow of slaying can fell a dragon. When not descending into the depths of the earth, exploring ruins for lost treasures, or waging war against the encroaching darkness, adventurers face more mundane realities. The dreaded power word kill spell can slay without even allowing the victim a saving throw. The bodak’s abyssal eyes can kill with a glance. In 3.5 edition, the rules for a death effect are as follows: Once a banshee wails, it must wait 1d4 rounds before it can do so again, and it can wail no more than three times per day. A successful Fortitude save (DC 26) negates the effect. This attack can slay up to eighteen living creatures within a 30-foot spread centered on the banshee, or within a 60-foot cone extending from the banshee, at the creature’s option.
Wail (Su): During the night, a banshee can loose a deadly wail. The banshee is described on page 30 of the Monster Manual II: